Lychees!

Standard

lychees

I know this has nothing to do with recycling, but I wanted to share an amazing fruit I discovered today. Lychees! These are small pink round bumpy skinned fruit, about the size of a large grape. You peel off the skin like a boiled egg (if you are so inclined…I just normally thump the egg with a spoon) and eat the white juicy flesh underneath. The stones in the middle are large (like chocolate raisins) and hard. My teeth will testify to that – nobody told me they had stones!

The health benefits make them like a Superfruit! Vitamin C, Vitamin B6, Niacin, riboflavin, folate, copper, potassium, phosphorus, manganese, etc, etc. The skin is so pink, I’m tempted to boil it up and see if it will make ink. Or dye….and then I shall plant the seeds to see what kind of plant grows.

I just had to share *ahem*. Normal service will be resumed tomorrow, whereupon I will show you the newly dried paper pulp bowls from last week – all painted nicely!

Leave a Reply

