Woman in Repose

Standard

Good afternoon lovely people! I’m waiting for fabric stuff to dry, and have the patience of a scuttling ant, so while I’m waiting, I thought I would do some decalcomania. I am seriously quite obsessed with this artform, its just so…..so….weird!

repose

This piece for example – don’t you think it looks like a woman lying sleeping? Or maybe even dead? It made me think of ancient burial rites, mummification, rituals and all that stuff (because clearly I was an Anthropologist in a previous life)

Anyway, just thought I would share this. I’d better get some dinner on before Mister gets back from work and thinks I have done nothing but play all day! πŸ˜€

27 responses »

  1. I also better get some dinner going on before Mr gets back, it’s that time of the day. I have looked at the picture from different angles, it actually looks like a woman. I want to believe she is enveloped by snow

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahh now thats interesting. I thought of indians too, but I’m the type of person who sees a *thing* and its fixed. Nice that you can see a landscape too – I bet you are good with those Magic Eye pictures, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Its interesting tho, that until about 8 years ago I wasn’t seeing anything. What I mean was I picked up a camera. It changed my world.Slowed me down. now I see things in shadows, in woodwork, on streets. Weird.. yes its another post still sitting on the draft list 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Photography is like that…makes you see things properly. Way back in the day I did film photography and my own developing. I swore I wouldn’t touch a digital camera, but…..things change. I’ll be interested in your post about “seeing things”. (Makes you sound like a psychic!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Memories, I still recall as if it was 10 seconds ago, back, way back, in a youth camp the first photo and then developing that image in the darkroom. Watching it emerge in the chems. Most amazing thing. I miss the romance of developing. Didn’t have access to cameras after that until recently. So I guess Ive had the affair twice now πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I can certainly see the face as well. It is a really interesting form of art. I used to do a bit of fabric-painting when I was younger, but am not really an artist. But I love seeing things like these. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • I did some small pictures on silk but I never really mastered the art… I prefer cross stitch because it doesn’t require any creativity on my side. Sadly I’m not a creative person at all…

        Liked by 1 person

      • You have an artists eye so in my opinion that makes you an artist – regardless of how you involve it in your life….and anything that requires a person to slow down and be mindful is very good. I should take some of that on board myself sometimes! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

