Decalcomania angst

Standard

Hello everyone – Happy Saturday. Even though its pouring with rain here in Scotland, and Storm Katie is skulking on the horizon, I do hope you are having a lovely weekend.

I have spent the last couple of days trying to push this decalcomania forward into new realms. Now I’m no Max Ernst by any means, or even Oscar Deminguez, but I do like to break through creative barriers.

cavernmonster

I saw this “monster” and thought it would be a good idea to highlight its plight in black pen. I don’t like it now – I should have left it alone. The black pen seems to de….de….umm, devalue? it. Decalcomania touches upon the subconscious, serendipity, chance,  and to deliberately mark it with pen, just is…..wrong. In my opinion.

So! I did another one

volcano spillfire

I like the reflective quality in this one – it can be viewed upside down (please take my word for it, don’t be having accidents with trying to stand on your head, or electrocute yourself by turning your monitor over!)

and another

misty treebones

I could keep on doing this forever, but my muse is niggling me for something more.

 

13 responses »

  1. The top one’s a bit threatening, scary, I like the reflective one but the more I lokk the more it looks like the monster is re-appearing in the background! I think I prefer the last one, I like trees ☺️👏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there, from sunny germany! It’s a bright and beautiful day today and I just wanted to say I really love all three pictures. I don’t think the outlines are much of a problem on the first one. You kept them very subtle and there is still enough left for the imagination. I especially love the second one, it kind of looks like a mountain panorama with an erupting volcano. The third one looks a bit spooky like a very foggy forest where you can just about make out the trees. I’d love to know how you do this, it looks faczinating. Have a great Easter weekend
    Mimi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

