Woodland Walk

Standard

Hubby and I jumped on a random train today (with the dog), and ended up in the woods. I love Scottish woodland, because its wild and interesting – not just uniform trees. I saw this

scary tree root

which fascinated me – what happened to the tree? And whose idea was it to build stairs? Is it some sort of tree sacrifice? It looks so very strange and scary…….

Anyway, further on I found this

fossil leaf

This is tree bark, from a fallen tree. But the thing is, with the tree being fallen it got damp, so the bark was coming off in separate sheets. A few layers in, was this thing – which I like to believe is a fossilised leaf from when the tree was growing. The leaf fell onto the bark of a young tree, one Autumn day, and got stuck, and then bark grew over it in the coming years, causing the leaf to become mummified. Its very cool – I brought it home. πŸ™‚

Then we have the Braided tree

braided tree

Now looking at it again, it looks kind of powerful…..muscles? Maybe its tree abs? Maybe it took so much strength to fight for light, that its just over developed compared to the other trees. Clearly some children thought it was a magic tree, because they put a little fairy door at the bottom. Quite what fairies are going to do with a plastic door, I have no idea, but its nice that kids see the potential πŸ™‚

And finally

delicate flowers

No walk is complete without some flowers. These were very delicate papery flowers which I thought were very pretty.

6 responses »

  1. What a wonderfully, interesting day you had! The first tree looks like something from a monster film with all its tentacles, I love the braided tree and the flowers are so delicate. Thank you for taking us with you ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thanks! We walk quite a lot really, but I just never think to post about it because its not arty crafty stuff. Maybe I should do, now and again. I adore trees in all their weird forms – but I agree, that first tree is something else indeed πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anything Scottish works for me. Ever thought the Druids may have actually loved this tree? Glad about the stairs. How else to get in close?

    I’ve taken many a wee walk on Scottish land. It’s a bit damp for my lungs, but oh so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Druids may well have loved this tree indeed – in fact Druids occupied (occupy) large parts of Scotland, albeit quietly these days. Yes, Scotland is known for its wet weather, but on a sunny day, there is no better place on Earth πŸ˜€ Thank you for taking the time to comment on my posts!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

