art

Watercolour Painting

watercolour

 

Hello everyone! I hope you are all well πŸ™‚ Just a quick catch up here because its been a few days….

I have been painting watercolours, and its so hard to do! Being a surrealist, I find it very hard to paint an actual “thing”, instead I like to allow chance to play a large part, then use my imagination from there. Having to paint a landscape or still life with the grapes and flowers on a lacy tablecloth is……a tad tedious to say the least. I prefer to take photographs, like this one from a couple of years ago – so pretty.

purple hill

But I thought I would try and at least attempt to paint a *proper* landscape for a change, and I have to say that – while its not great – its not too bad for a first attempt.

purple hillwatercolour

6 thoughts on “Watercolour Painting”

  1. Not bad at all! I like the ethereal effect. I’m with you on the still life etc. I too like to just make a stroke or a shape and see what it turns into. I don’t paint nowadays, but I used to in my teens. I do use watercolour pencils occasionally on cards. Glad to see you’ve been busy and not just idling away… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why thank you! πŸ™‚ I have some watercolour pencils too, but I don’t use them really. What did you paint when you were a teen? I was hopeless at art when I was younger – mind you, it didn’t help that my art teacher spent most of the time in the cupboard with her *friend* Jack Daniels….. :p

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nothing formal, I had to give up Art when I was 14! I was hopeless. Slow developer! I just liked dabbling, doing abstract stuff, trying colours and seeing what it became. I prefer craft-type ‘art’ now.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, a like minded abstract painter πŸ˜€ I went (ONCE), to a weekend art class thing, and my goodness, if I ever have to paint sliced peppers again, I will take a hammer to them and use the mush itself as paint! 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Love the image πŸ˜‚ My brother was a painter, but the formality of the A level art lessons forced him to quit and he binned all his art equipment. It’s a shame there is so much prescription so early on.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh gosh thats terrible! And yes, formally taught art is the absolute confidence killer. I know 2 people with art degrees who never create, yet people that are self taught in expressive arts are happy and relaxed, and generally produce good work.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

