Crafts

Paper Jewellery

Hello everyone! I know its Wednesday and I promised a post on Monday, but I’m here now, scatty as always – the ideas just kept coming, and…and…I couldn’t stop the roll.

So the past few days I have been cutting and gluing (being so careful of that dastardly knife!) and making paper beads and jewellery. Or Jewelry, as the Americans spell it.

A very nice man at the local hardware shop gave me 2 discontinued wallpaper sample books so off I trotted gleefully to play. I didn’t have jewellery in mind at first, but then I thought the pretty papers would look great as beads.

necklace3

This is wallpaper beads, wooden beads and a cardboard bead. The wallpaper was a deep shiny blue and turquoise which I really like.

necklace1

I really liked the cardboard bead so I made another one and painted it, adding a couple of shiny doo-dah things and a painted wooden bead.

necklace2

This is a pendant made from cardboard, covered with wallpaper. A button and a shiny doo-dah thing finishes it off, and its strung on matching cord. After posting this, I noticed that the glue hasn’t quite dried up yet, ha! Sorry…how unprofessional of me πŸ˜€ It does dry clear, I’m just too enthusiastic.

bracelet1

A bracelet of wallpaper, glass bead, and cord. I’ll restring this because I don’t like the big knot. A proper silver fastening would look much neater – just experimenting.

bracelet2

I painted the paper for this one, just to see how it would look. Its quite vibrant – if you like red! Again I’ll restring this one.

So I have a ton of other beads and things to string up. The weather has turned for the worst now, so this will keep me occupied for a while. I won’t bore you with more pictures just yet though!

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Paper Jewellery”

  1. Blimey, that takes me back! We used to do this when we were students using the glossy pages of the Sunday newspaper supplements. Never done it with cardboard though, it looks very effective. I like the texture. Like the turquoise colour. You’ve been very busy β˜ΊοΈπŸ‘πŸ»

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, yes….apparently Victorians did it with wallpaper and beeswax. Dunno if I dare wear any of this outside though – I varnished it so its waterproof, but we Scots have a *special* kind of rain! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, we used varnish too. Maybe you could sell them and you art at a craft fair/car boot/etsy or give them as birthday/Christmas/thank you etc gifts to family/friends or donate to charity shop, having taken photos first so you have a portfolio/record of all your creations?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I showed my daughter one last night and she told me to “stop faffing around” and get selling! I have made enquiries about a local stall for Christmas, and checking out online as well. Donating to a charity shop sounds like a good idea as well, I’ll check out some today. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

