Black and White

Standard

So today I went for a 2 hour walk in the pouring rain. It wasn’t raining when I left the house, but there you have it. Its Scotland. We rain. Its exhilarating….

I tried the monochrome setting on my camera today….I’m not sure if I like it that much to be honest. Maybe it was the lighting, or the subject matter, but they came out kind of “meh”. I’m working my way up to street photography, but I’m not brave enough yet for people shots. Its taking me all my time to do this. (People get very suspicious when you bring out a camera)

flower

heron2

macro raindrops

moorhen

swan nest

witches cauldron

(This last one is a witches cauldron on a stone wall. There are many witches here y’know, oh yes) Anyway, I tried to ignore the colour and concentrate on texture, but it was pouring with rain, and fiddly so I’m going to try again this week. When its dry…..and sunny? Hmm.

16 responses »

  1. “Meh” eh?
    Mm… black and white photography: Of course all my photography was black and white in the old days, and when I finally went digital, and found that gorgeous colour was easy at last, I had to learn to re-see as I looked through the viewfinder. Some pictures beg for black and white whilst others are all about the colour. Sorry if I’m ranting on here, but what I do now is take them all in colour and then look at them later and convert the suitable ones to black and white on photoshop.

    Liked by 1 person

    • See I was the very same! All my B&W were film and they turned out lovely, but with digital B&W, they lack that *something*. I might try the colour conversion and see if that works. (Even though I do feel like its less authentic – but I’m like that with digital, as you know!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, yes. What I find is that after a colour picture has been converted to B&W it looks a little bit wishy-washy, and I edit the contrast on it on Photoshop – it can definitely improve them and make them ‘sparkle’ (if that’s the right word) more like a traditional good quality print on paper. I often just use the preset ‘Auto Contrast’ button and that does the trick.
        “Authentic” eh? Hm…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hmmm yes, well I have just tried fiddling around with a colourful flower photo, and turning it to B&W. It was alright, but not very interesting, despite the veins and tattered petals. I think I might need to practice thinking more in black and white when looking at potential shots, so far as ignoring the colour and looking more at texture and values. Here’s to a confusing weekend, haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, the noticeable thing about flowers is generally the colour – off hand, I can’t think of one that would look good in black and white. For me, the choice of colour or B&W all depends on the subject.
        A rainy street scene with wet reflective pavements and people running with newspapers over their heads – much better in B&W – a publicity still from a really miserable Russian play – B&W every time…
        And…
        St Sebastian and Ian. Edinburgh. 1980s.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gosh its funny you should say that, because when I was out doing the black and white thing the other day, it was pouring with rain. I ended up on a cobbled street with high old walls, so being the arty farty idiot that I am, I thought I would get a good shot if I lay down on the cobbles – y’know, an alternative viewpoint. All I got was one huge shiny cobblestone in great focus and a wet blur of background (don’t laugh, I can hear you from here!) šŸ˜€ P.S I would love to go see a miserable Russian play, oh the drama!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, you poor lamb!
        I didn’t laugh, but I must confess that I did smile.
        It is, I believe, called ‘differential focus’ – the thing of interest sharp and the boring stuff deliberately blurred. It sounds like it could have been a very interesting picture… No?…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Funnily enough, Dave, it wasn’t. No, it definitely was not an interesting picture at ALL. That aside, I just replied to your b&w shot without realising that it was on my own blog, thereby replying to myself (??), so, whats the story behind the stabby mannequin thing and the moody guy at the window? Its a nice shot šŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m totally confused now – but I think I’m typing this on my blog comments, but I could be wrong…
        Oh, I wasn’t expecting my photo to actually appear big on your comments – I thought it would just be a little blue link. However, let’s press on…
        The photo was taken in, I think, the Edinburgh Museum in the 1980s when I was playing in the band upstage in a play on the ‘Edinburgh Fringe’. The chap (statue) featuring arrows is Saint Sebastian, and the other hippy-looking one is the bass player from the band. Black and white suits it quite well, doesn’t it?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think what happens is that all the comments form a thread of conversation from where the first comment came from, which makes more sense than having random snippets of disjointed conversation on each participants blog. So all this is on mine. Which is fine, but I can send you a copy by first class Scottish pigeon if you desire šŸ˜€ Also that’s an interesting story for your B&W pic – both personally and the Saint Sebastian figure. B&W people shots are far more interesting. šŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it’s a bit puzzling because although I have MY blog open, I am writing this on yours… Hey ho!
        But what fun!…
        A footnote: Apparently all those arrows didn’t kill Saint Seb and he actually recovered.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well I’m not on anyone’s blog – I’m responding here on the little drop down bit underneath the bell, when the orange spot happens. So there! šŸ˜€ And yes, Saint Seb was a bit of a hero martyr apparently. So Wiki says šŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

