art

Experimenting with pastel

Ok, so I haven’t used pastel in oh-so-many years, and I bought a small box the other week and began some small pieces. None of them looked very fine, so I put them aside and took out some acrylics. I wondered how the pastels would behave on top of paint, and started to draw and blend.

pastel balloon

“Where do escaped balloons go?” Acrylic and pastel A3

I think they look not too bad for a first go really. Ok, there isn’t much detail but the blending is so much better than pastel on paper itself, I think. And given this was done very quickly without much planning, I think the greens look quite nice on the blue paint.

7 thoughts on “Experimenting with pastel”

      1. The old chap on the TV, whose name escapes me, insisted that they should be called ‘paintings’. He explained that since pasTELs are nearly 100% pigment they are a lot more like paintings than drawings.
        That woman Stella always calls them drawings! Bah!…

        Like

Leave a Reply

