Crafts

Fun with a gun (Glue gun, that is!)

button-lampshade

So my hot glue gun that I ordered finally arrived, and so I had to try it out. I embarked on a ridiculous project involving sticking buttons onto a boring lampshade. This project is all over the internet and I wanted something quick and easy to practice with.

Lemme tell ya – its called a HOT glue gun for a reason. And reason clearly left me alone as I began sticking those darned buttons all over the shade – the glue seeps up between the tiny holes and burns…oh boy does it burn! So I was kind of stick-press-ouch!, stick, press, ouch! a fair amount of the time, until I got myself a thimble to protect my finger.

So anyway, it got finished and looks nice enough for a craft room. (Please excuse the bad paint job between the ceiling and wall in the background there….cutting in has never been my strong point and I haven’t painted the ceiling yet…..)

9 thoughts on “Fun with a gun (Glue gun, that is!)”

  1. Blimey, Danger: Artist at Work! Looks like liquorice allsorts πŸ˜„ Tip for Twitter, if you use #’s you’ll attract readers with similar interests eg #craft #create #art #lampshade #project etc and maybe get some discussion or swap tips

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh lordy, is that like Instagram all over again with the tags? Right ok, I shall bear that in mind, thanks! And I laughed at the “Danger: Artist at Work!” That would make a good sign for the door πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Love your lamp shade. I just discovered my love of buttons and was looking for an easy button project. Thanks.

    I found your blog from Pink Poodle Craft and I’m hoping you’ll start putting up some vids on YouTube. I’m in the US and watch vids from all over the world, Some aren’t even in English and I don’t have a clue what they are saying, so don’t worry about your accent. The UK is one of my most favorite places (I’m an Anglophile) so I’m going to like you before I even see your vids. I love hearing all the different UK accents. Be brave and share your crafts. The crafty community needs you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh, that is the sweetest thing to say! Thank you! Well I’m going to try my very best and thats all I can do. I just find it easier to write than to chat (to an imaginary friend, haha!) But I am very excited to get started, so thanks again for your support! πŸ˜€ Oh, and the button lampshade was very easy – just protect your fingers πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

