Hrrrm, Spring has sprung?

Standard

Daffodil Abbey

So I was out walking the dog this morning, and felt that, despite the gloomy skies, Spring was stepping her little dainty toes in and around the local area. I haven’t seen much in the way of snowdrops or crocuses this year, but daffodils, oh they are in abundance! One thing I will say about round here, nobody picks the flowers. People tend to leave them alone, which is quite nice to see. I took this shot at the local Abbey and fiddled around with filters to highlight the daffs. The building is beautiful on a nice sunny day, but being gloomy as it was this morning, well….not looking its best.

Wherever you are, I do hope you are having a lovely weekend! 🙂

17 responses »

  1. Love it. You’ll have to come to Los Angeles for spring sometime. It may not be nearly as moody, but it is definitely warm. And we don’t have the natural springing up of flowers. It’s the desert. And man has forced habitation here…Flowers know best to stay away.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello! Yes, I would love to visit at some point – I just googled “flowers and trees in Los Angeles” because I was all like “what?? No flowers??” Then I saw the most gorgeous Jacaranda trees over there! Stunning. So its still pretty, even if it is…umm… man made urban design. Least its not tumbleweed, which is what I first thought when you commented, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, that’s right. But it depends on where you are….The wealthy have more access to beauty… But, no tumbleweeds. Too much concrete and steel. And there is the coast and that’s beautiful.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ah right, yes…its like over here then with the wealthy and their scenic surroundings. But yeah, your coast looks gorgeous…..do you get to go there often? I live about 40 minutes away by train from our coast, but don’t go there as much as I would like.

        Liked by 1 person

      • OK, This much time to give a response is a lifetime in social media time. My work schedule takes me away from my computer quite a bit these days. In case you care or are still wondering, I don’t get to the beach much anymore, for the same reasons I don’t write as much as I want to. Time. I never take it for myself… But the beaches are beautiful here. It’s about a 30-45 minute drive in any direction for me to get to a beach. The traffic gets worse here every year.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey, its ok, don’t worry. And I know that you have a Real Life away from a screen, which is as it should be. (Although I did read a blog somewhere the other day, where she said she was giving up blogging as it was too slow, and she was heading to Instagram and Facebook where it was faster. I laughed to myself – I mean seriously? People need to unplug, not amp it up) And on that note….please do try and schedule in some time for yourself…especially to grow your writing (or visit the beach). Easier said than done, I realise that, but….you will go mad if you don’t spend some time inside your own wee world! 😀

        Like

  2. Spring hasn’t sprung quite yet here in Indiana, but we have had little winter, and a lot of sunny days. I see buds popping their heads out [in other people’s yards], and I sitting here at my kitchen counter look at the bushes I planted last year, hoping to see new life coming into view.

    Love your image. What you do with filters is way cool. I love that the [don’t touch me] yellow flowers are in the forefront of the image, while the majesty of the church is in the background. It looks wonderful the way you did it, gloomy skies or no…I’m digging it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank you SO much for your reply! Made me smile on this cold Sunday morning. I hope your bushes burst into colourful life very soon. I googled images of Indiana and it looks beautiful! I love looking at other parts of the world. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

